402 CHL Graduates Named to AHL Opening Night Rosters

A total of 402 CHL alumni are listed on American Hockey League opening day rosters representing over 51% of all players in the league to start the 2016-17 season.

Of the 402 players, 85 finished the 2015-16 season in the CHL led by reigning WHL goal-scoring leader and Player of the Year Dryden Hunt of the Moose Jaw Warriors, OHL scoring champion and Overage Player of the Year Kevin Labanc of the Barrie Colts and QMJHL Player of the Year Francis Perron of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies.

The 402 CHL graduates on NHL rosters includes 169 players from the Ontario Hockey League, 133 from the Western Hockey League, and 100 from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

The Guelph Storm lead all CHL clubs with 15 graduates on AHL rosters, followed by the Edmonton Oil Kings with 14, and the Barrie Colts, Oshawa Generals and Portland Winterhawks with 13. The Toronto Marlies (Toronto Maple Leafs) have the most CHL graduates on their roster with 21, followed by the Manitoba Moose (Winnipeg Jets) with 20 and the Tucson Roadrunners (Arizona Coyotes) with 19.

The CHL continues to be the number one supplier of talent to the NHL.

2015-16 CHL Graduates on AHL Opening Night Rosters:

(Most recent CHL team in brackets)

Albany Devils (NJ):
Brandon Baddock (Edmonton Oil Kings)
Mackenzie Blackwood (Barrie Colts)
Josh Jacobs (Sarnia Sting)
Jan Mandat (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
John Quenneville (Brandon Wheat Kings)

Bakersfield Condors (EDM):
Jaedon Descheneau (Kootenay ICE)

Binghamton Senators (OTT):
Gabriel Gagne (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Francis Perron (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI):
Michael Dal Colle (Kingston Frontenacs)
Josh Ho-Sang (Niagara IceDogs)

Charlotte Checkers (CAR):
Clark Bishop (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
Haydn Fleury (Red Deer Rebels)
Alex Nedeljkovic (Niagara IceDogs)
Josh Wesley (Niagara IceDogs)

Chicago Wolves (STL):
Samuel Blais (Charlottetown Islanders)
Conner Bleackley (Red Deer Rebels)
Vince Dunn (Niagara IceDogs)

Cleveland Monsters (CBJ):
Paul Bittner (Portland Winterhawks)
Frank Hora (Kitchener Rangers)
Jordan Maletta (Niagara IceDogs)
Dante Salituro (Ottawa 67’s)
Justin Scott (Barrie Colts)
Blake Siebenaler (Niagara IceDogs)

Grand Rapids Griffins (DET):
Joe Hicketts (Victoria Royals)
Dylan Sadowy (Barrie Colts)
Evgeny Svechnikov (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
Dominic Turgeon (Portland Winterhawks)

Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR):
Michael Joly (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)

Hershey Bears (WSH):
Colby Williams (Regina Pats)

Iowa Wild (MIN):
Hunter Warner (Prince Albert Raiders)

Lehigh Valley Phantoms (PHI):
Nicolas Aube-Kubel (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
Radel Fazleev (Calgary Hitmen)
Travis Sanheim (Calgary Hitmen)

Manitoba Moose (WPG):
Brendan Lemieux (Windsor Spitfires)
Nelson Nogier (Red Deer Rebels)

Milwaukee Admirals (NSH):
Alexandre Carrier (Gatineau Olympiques)
Jack Dougherty (Portland Winterhawks)
Justin Kirkland (Kelowna Rockets)
Anthony Richard (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Ontario Reign (LA):
Mike Amadio (North Bay Battalion)
Erik Cernak (Erie Otters)

Providence Bruins (BOS):
Jake DeBrusk (Red Deer Rebels)

Rochester Americans (BUF):
Eric Cornel (Peterborough Petes)
Vaclav Karabacek (Moncton Wildcats)
Brycen Martin (Everett Silvertips)
Daniel Muzito-Bagenda (Mississauga Steelheads)
Alexander Nylander (Mississauga Steelheads)

San Antonio Rampage (COL):
Sergei Boikov (Drummondville Voltigeurs)
A.J. Greer (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Julien Nantel (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Shawn Ouellette-St. Amant (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

San Jose Barracuda (SJ):
Rourke Chartier (Kelowna Rockets)
Jason Fram (Spokane Chiefs)
Adam Helewka (Red Deer Rebels)
Kevin Labanc (Barrie Colts)
Jake Marchment (Erie Otters)
Jon Martin (Swift Current Broncos)
Timo Meier (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Jacob Middleton (Ottawa 67’s)
Alex Schoenborn (Portland Winterhawks)

Springfield Thunderbirds (FLA):
Rihards Bukarts (Portland Winterhawks)
Jayce Hawryluk (Brandon Wheat Kings)
Dryden Hunt (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Juho Lammikko (Kingston Frontenacs)
Thomas Schemitsch (Owen Sound Attack)

St. John’s IceCaps (MTL):
Daniel Audette (Sherbrooke Phoenix)

Stockton Heat (CGY):
Rasmus Andersson (Barrie Colts)
Kayle Doetzel (Red Deer Rebels)
Keegan Kanzig (Calgary Hitmen)
Andrew Mangiapane (Barrie Colts)

Syracuse Crunch (TB):
Dominik Masin (Peterborough Petes)
Ben Thomas (Vancouver Giants)

Toronto Marlies (TOR):
Nikolas Brouillard (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Travis Dermott (Erie Otters)
Mason Marchment (Mississauga Steelheads)
Andrew Nielsen (Lethbridge Hurricanes)
Dmytro Timashov (Shawinigan Cataractes)

Tucson Roadrunners (ARI) (19):
Christian Fischer (Windsor Spitfires)
Conor Garland (Moncton Wildcats)
Ryan MacInnis (Kitchener Rangers)
Dysin Mayo (Edmonton Oil Kings)
Brendan Perlini (Niagara IceDogs)
Kyle Wood (North Bay Battalion)

Utica Comets (VAN):
Michael Carcone (Drummondville Voltigeurs)
Yan-Pavel Laplante (Gatineau Olympiques)

More News
Pats pull together to oust rival Broncos and advance to semi-final
4 hours ago
CHL Fans and Community Raise Over $7 Million for Charities and Local Organizations
12 hours ago
Bulldogs hand Titan first loss, await Wednesday's outcome
1 day ago
CHL Scholarship Program Investment Tops $9.6 Million in 2017-18
2 days ago
CHL and Health Canada announce public education partnership
2 days ago
Skinner shines but Bulldogs prove too much for Broncos
2 days ago