2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia Awards & All-Stars


Following the Championship Final, the Canadian Hockey League announced the top individual award winners and tournament All-Stars for the 2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia as selected by NHL Central Scouting.

Rouyn-Noranda Huskies forward Joël Teasdale earned the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy as Memorial Cup MVP, recording four goals and an assist for five points over five contests. The 20-year-old Montreal Canadiens prospect recorded a goal in four straight games to finish the tournament while registering at least three shots on goal in each of his five outings.

Huskies teammate Jakub Lauko led the event in scoring, recording eight points (2-6–8) over five games to earn the Ed Chynoweth Trophy. The 19-year-old Boston Bruins prospect recorded a point in each of his five outings including three different two-point efforts. He becomes the first Czech player to lead the Memorial Cup in scoring since Vancouver’s Michal Repik last did so in 2007.

Halifax Mooseheads netminder Alexis Gravel earned the Hap Emms Memorial Trophy as the tournament’s Most Outstanding Goaltender. The 19-year-old Chicago Blackhawks prospect played to a 2-2 record with a tournament-leading 2.78 goals-against average and .918 save percentage.

Three-time OHL Most Sportsmanlike Player Nick Suzuki of the Guelph Storm earned the George Parsons Trophy as the event’s Most Sportsmanlike Player. The 19-year-old Montreal Canadiens prospect finished tied for the Storm scoring lead with seven points (3-4–7) over four contests while also staying out of the penalty box. Suzuki earned a point in each of Guelph’s four contests, headlining his schedule with three points (2-1–3) in a 5-2 win over the Prince Albert Raiders.

The Rouyn-Noranda Huskies, Halifax Mooseheads and Guelph Storm each had two players named to the Memorial Cup All-Star team. Huskies forward Félix Bibeau (5-1–6) joined defenceman Noah Dobson (1-2–3) in receiving the honour while Mooseheads teammates Alexis Gravel (2-2, 2.78, .918) and Benoit-Olivier Groulx (1-3–4) were also included. Guelph Storm blueliner Sean Durzi (2-5–7) led all defencemen in tournament scoring while teammate Isaac Ratcliffe (3-3–6) rounded out the all-star selection.

2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia Awards:
Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player) – Joël Teasdale (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Ed Chynoweth Trophy (Top Scorer) – Jakub Lauko (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
George Parsons Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike Player) – Nick Suzuki (Guelph Storm)
Hap Emms Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Goaltender) – Alexis Gravel (Halifax Mooseheads)
Click here to see a historical list of all award winners

2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia All-Star Team:
Goaltender – Alexis Gravel (Halifax Mooseheads)
Defence – Sean Durzi (Guelph Storm)
Defence – Noah Dobson (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Forward – Isaac Ratcliffe (Guelph Storm)
Forward – Félix Bibeau (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Forward – Benoit-Olivier Groulx (Halifax Mooseheads)
Click here to see a historical list of All-Star Teams

More News
CHL Player of the Night - Justin Robidas (Nov. 27)
11 hours ago
Ambrose excited to be part of first ever Memorial eCup presented by Kia
20 hours ago
CHL Player of the Night - Zachary Emond (Nov. 26)
1 day ago
QMJHL postpones seven games in Maritimes Division
2 days ago
Meet The Future - A Look Ahead to 2021
2 days ago
WHL & Western Branches announce cancellation of 2020 WHL Cup
2 days ago