Greyhounds’ Joseph Raaymakers named Vaughn CHL Goaltender of the Week

Aaron Bell/OHL Images

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League today announced that goaltender Joseph Raaymakers of the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds is the Vaughn CHL Goaltender of the Week for the playoff week ending April 9 after posting a 2-1 record with a goals-against-average of 1.67 and save percentage of .951.

Raaymakers stopped 98 shots in three games for the Greyhounds who opened their OHL Western Conference Semi-Final series last week against the Owen Sound Attack with a pair of wins on home ice.  In Game 1 last Wednesday he made 27 saves as second star of a 4-1 victory, then earned first star honours in Game 2 on Friday with 34 saves in a 4-1 decision.  The series continued Sunday in Owen Sound with a third straight 4-1 outcome, this time in favour of the Attack, however Raaymakers still earned third star recognition with 37 saves.

A 19-year-old from Chatham, ON, Raaymakers is playing in his third season with the Greyhounds who chose him in the second round of the 2014 OHL Priority Selection.  He currently leads all OHL netminders with a post-season goals-against-average of 1.43 and save percentage of .954 after producing marks of 3.38 and .889 in 41 regular season appearances.

Also considered for the award this week was Jordan Papirny of the Swift Current Broncos who made 126 saves while posting a 2-1 record with a goals-against-average of 2.47 and save percentage of .940 against the Regina Pats, and Etienne Montpetit of the Val-d’Or Foreurs who stopped 116 shots despite a pair of losses to the Saint John Sea Dogs with a goals-against-average of 2.32 and save percentage of .959.

2016-17 Vaughn CHL Playoff Goaltenders of the Week:
Apr. 3 – Apr. 9: Joseph Raaymakers (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Mar. 27 – Apr. 2: Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips)
Mar. 20 – Mar. 26: Kyle Jessiman (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)

2016-17 Vaughn CHL Regular Season Goaltenders of the Week:
Mar. 13 – Mar. 19: Cole Kehler (Portland Winterhawks)
Mar. 6 – Mar. 12: Callum Booth (Saint John Sea Dogs)
Feb. 27 – Mar. 5: Matthew Villalta (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Feb. 20 – Feb. 26: Zach Sawchenko (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Feb. 13 – Feb. 19: Zach Sawchenko (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Feb. 6 – Feb. 12: Brodan Salmond (Kelowna Rockets)
Jan. 30 – Feb. 5: Stuart Skinner (Lethbridge Hurricanes)
Jan. 23 – Jan. 29: Jeremy Helvig (Kingston Frontenacs)
Jan. 16 – Jan. 22: Matthew Welsh (Charlottetown Islanders)
Jan. 9 – Jan. 15: Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)
Jan. 2 – Jan. 8: Francis Leclerc (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
Dec. 26 – Jan. 1: Griffen Outhouse (Victoria Royals)
Dec. 12 – Dec. 18: Dylan Wells (Peterborough Petes)
Dec. 5 – Dec. 11: Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)
Nov. 28 – Dec. 4: Connor Ingram (Kamloops Blazers)
Nov. 21 – Nov. 27: Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips)
Nov. 14 – Nov. 20: Matthew Villalta (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Nov. 7 – Nov. 13: Patrick Dea (Edmonton Oil Kings)
Oct. 31 – Nov. 6: Zach Sawchenko (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Oct. 24 – Oct. 30: Troy Timpano (Erie Otters)
Oct. 17 – Oct. 23: Reilly Pickard (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)
Oct. 10 – Oct. 16: Ryan Kubic (Vancouver Giants)
Oct. 3 – Oct. 9: Logan Flodell (Saskatoon Blades)
Sept. 26 – Oct. 2: Samuel Harvey (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Sept. 21 – Sept. 25: Liam Herbst (Guelph Storm)

More News
CHL Grads Well Represented at 2017-18 U SPORTS Awards and University Cup
4 days ago
CHL Announces Top 10 Rankings - Mar. 14/2018
5 days ago
#CIBCShowdown: Week ending Mar. 11/2018
5 days ago
Warriors’ Jayden Halbgewachs named CHL Player of the Week
6 days ago
Tigres’ Etienne Montpetit named Vaughn CHL Goaltender of the Week
6 days ago
CHL alumni earn OUA year-end awards
2 weeks ago