The Saint John Sea Dogs have been a proud member of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League since 2005, and have worked diligently to ensure that its players achieve their goals, whether that involves playing at the next level or furthering their education while getting the opportunity to play for a model organization.

The Sea Dogs really made their mark in a three-year period from 2010 to 2012, when Saint John won three straight QMJHL regular season championships. Led by future NHLers Jonathan Huberdeau, Simon Despres, Tomas Jurco, Nathan Beaulieu, Stanislav Galiev, Eric Gelinas and Charlie Coyle, the club rolled to back-to-back QMJHL President Cup championships in 2011 and 2012, and took home the 2011 Memorial Cup, becoming the first team from Atlantic Canada to do so in the 93-year history of the trophy.

In 2017, the Sea Dogs reached greatness again, capturing the President Cup for a third time. Led by future NHLers Thomas Chabot and Matthew Highmore, the team swept the finals before making their 3rd Memorial Cup appearance in just seven years.

Since the team’s inception, the Sea Dogs have produced 24 NHL draft picks and to date, 17 Sea Dogs have played in the NHL, while several others have appeared in the American Hockey League, ECHL, other minor leagues, and Europe.

The organization is very proud that a number of our graduates have also continued their education and playing careers at universities across Canada through Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS).