Team QMJHL Roster Announced for 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series

TORONTO, Monday, October 18, 2010 – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Saint John Sea Dogs and Drummondville Voltigeurs hockey clubs have announced the roster for Team QMJHL that will compete against Team Russia in the 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series.  

The series opens at Harbour Station in Saint John, NB, on Monday November 8 with game two slated for Wednesday November 10 at Centre Marcel-Dionne in Drummondville, QC.  25 different QMJHL players will compete against the Russians before the series heads west for two games in the OHL and two games against WHL competition.  

“I’m honoured to be able to coach the best players in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League for two games against a Russian squad which I believe will really put us to the test,” said Team QMJHL Head Coach André Tourigny.  “They will be bringing a much stronger squad over this year and it should be a great show for our fans.  Mike Kelly, Dominic Ricard, Yannick Dumais and Pierre Leduc did an excellent job of putting the team together. The team will certainly be very strong on defence and in goal as well as have a ton of depth at the forward position.”

Highlighting the list of players selected is the top QMJHL pick from the 2010 NHL Entry Draft, Brandon Gormley of the Moncton Wildcats, who was selected 13th overall by the Phoenix Coyotes.  Seven players from the Montreal Juniors will participate in the series including 2009 first round NHL Entry Draft pick of the Montreal Canadiens Louis Leblanc.  The host clubs will be represented by four players from the Saint John Sea Dogs, including 2009 first round NHL pick of the Pittsburgh Penguins Simon Després, while the Drummondville Voltigeurs will be represented by three players including top 2011 NHL Entry Draft prospect Sean Couturier.  

Each of the three CHL member teams (QMJHL, OHL, WHL) are assembled by a selection committee that works closely with Hockey Canada Head Scout Kevin Prendergast to select CHL players that will compete in the series.  The QMJHL selection committee included Mike Kelly, Director of Hockey Operations and Associate Coach of the Saint John Sea Dogs, Drummondville Voltigeurs’ General Manager Dominc Ricard, Rimouski Océanic General Manager Yannick Dumais, along with Marcel Patenaude, the QMJHL Vice-President, Hockey, and Pierre Leduc, the QMJHL Director of Hockey Operations.

Both hosts have also announced their honourary dignitaries for the 2010 SUBWAY Super Series.  Pittsburgh Penguins prospect and former Sea Dog Alex Grant will serve as Honourary Captain for the game in Saint John.  Grant played four seasons with the club from 2005-09 and was named Game MVP of the Canada Russia contest for Team QMJHL that was held in Saint John back in 2008.  In Drummondville, Municipal Counselor Roberto Léveilléé will serve as Honourary President for the event, while 13-year-old Dmitri Belayev will be Honourary Captain.  Léveilléé has been Counselor for 11 years and is committed to sport and physical activity in Drummondville, while Belayev moved to the city from his home in Russia to learn English and French and to improve his hockey skills.  

Team QMJHL Roster


Jean-Francois Bérubé, Montreal Juniors*
Maxime Clermont, Gatineau Olympiques**
Olivier Roy, Acadie-Bathurst Titan


Nathan Beaulieu, Saint John Sea Dogs
Nicolas Deslauriers, Gatineau Olympiques
Simon Després, Saint John Sea Dogs
Jérome Gauthier-Leduc, Rimouski Océanic
Brandon Gormley, Moncton Wildcats
Ryan Kavanagh, Rimouski Océanic*
Jean-Philippe Mathieu, Drummondville Voltigeurs**
Xavier Ouellet, Montreal Juniors
Charles-Olivier Roussel, Montreal Juniors


Guillaume Asselin, Chicoutimi Saguenéens
Louis-Marc Aubry, Montreal Juniors
Michael Bournival, Shawinigan Cataractes
Jonathan Brunelle, Drummondville Voltigeurs**
Sean Couturier, Drummondville Voltigeurs
Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John Sea Dogs
Brandon Hynes, Victoriaville Tigres
Louis Leblanc, Montreal Juniors
Philippe Lefebvre, Montreal Juniors*
Jonathan Lessard, Acadie-Bathurst Titan
Philippe Paradis, PEI Rocket
Trevor Parkes, Montreal Juniors
Zack Phillips, Saint John Sea Dogs

*Will only compete in Saint John
**Will only compete in Drummondville

More News
139 WHL Alumni on NHL Opening Night Rosters
2 days ago
175 OHL Alumni on NHL Opening Night Rosters
2 days ago
Kia CHL Top-10 Spotlight: Islanders sinking the competition
3 days ago
The Week That Was – Making a mark at NHL camps
4 days ago
657 CHL talents past and present competing at NHL training camps
5 days ago
CHL Sunday Spotlight – 5 Questions with Oceanic's Zachary Bolduc
6 days ago