Team OHL Rosters Announced for 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the Ontario Hockey League and the London Knights and Sudbury Wolves hockey clubs today announced the rosters for Team OHL that will compete against Team Russia in the 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series.  

Following two games hosted in the QMJHL, the OHL leg of the six-game series begins in London on Thursday November 11 at the John Labatt Centre before moving north to the Sudbury Community Arena on Monday November 15.  The series then shifts west for two games hosted in the WHL.  

“The SUBWAY® Super Series provides these players with a tremendous opportunity to demonstrate that they can compete amongst the best players eligible for the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship,” said Dave Cameron of the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors, who will serve as Head Coach of both Team OHL and Team Canada.  “The OHL has had a lot of success against the Russians in this event and I am confident that we have assembled another strong group of players in all positions that will make us competitive in these games, and with players who will make a strong push to represent the OHL on Team Canada in Buffalo this December.”

36 players in total were selected for Team OHL rosters including 2010 Team Canada members Calvin de Haan of the Oshawa Generals, and Ryan Ellis of the Windsor Spitfires who won silver last year at the IIHF World Junior Championship.  The rosters are also highlighted by three first round picks in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft including Erik Gudbranson of the Kingston Frontenacs, Joey Hishon of the Owen Sound Attack, and Mark Visentin of the Niagara IceDogs.  In addition to de Haan and Ellis, 2009 first round picks Peter Holland of the Guelph Storm and Zack Kassian of the Windsor Spitfires will compete in the series.  Scott Harrington of the London Knights is one of seven players competing that are eligible for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft.  He will represent the host Knights in London alongside forward Michael MacDonald, while Wolves’ forwards Marcus Foligno and John McFarland will represent the host team in Sudbury.  

The Team OHL rosters were assembled by a selection committee that includes Brampton Battalion General Manager and Head Coach Stan Butler, and London Knights’ General Manager Mark Hunter.  Both Butler and Hunter worked in conjunction with Hockey Canada Head Scout Kevin Prendergast.
All six games will be broadcast nationally on Rogers Sportsnet starting at 7 pm (ET) while RDS will broadcast the two contests in Saint John and Drummondville.  Associate sponsors for the event are Bank of Montreal and CCM.

Team OHL Roster – London, ON – November 11, 2010

*Players competing in both games

Goal (2):
Scott Stajcer, Owen Sound Attack
Scott Wedgewood, Plymouth Whalers

Defence (6):
Jesse Blacker, Owen Sound Attack*
Calvin de Haan, Oshawa Generals
Taylor Doherty, Kingston Frontenacs*
Erik Gudbranson, Kingston Frontenacs*
Scott Harrington, London Knights
Ryan Murphy, Kitchener Rangers

Forwards (13):
Taylor Beck, Guelph Storm
Sam Carrick, Brampton Battalion
Joey Hishon, Owen Sound Attack*
Peter Holland, Guelph Storm
Boone Jenner, Oshawa Generals
Michael Latta, Guelph Storm
Lucas Lessio, Oshawa Generals
Michael MacDonald, London Knights
Ryan Martindale, Ottawa 67’s
Christian Thomas, Oshawa Generals
Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa 67’s
Ethan Werek, Kingston Frontenacs*
Garrett Wilson, Owen Sound Attack

George Burnett, Coach (Belleville Bulls)
Dave Cameron, Coach (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)             
Dale Hunter, Assistant Coach (London Knights)
Andrew Scott, Athletic Therapist (London Knights)
Chris Maton, Equipment Manager (London Knights)
Team OHL Roster – Sudbury, ON – November 15, 2010

*Players competing in both games

Goal (2):
JP Anderson, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Mark Visentin, Niagara IceDogs

Defence (6):
Brock Beukeboom, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
Jesse Blacker, Owen Sound Attack*
Taylor Doherty, Kingston Frontenacs*
Ryan Ellis, Windsor Spitfires
Erik Gudbranson, Kingston Frontenacs*
Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs

Forwards (12):
Casey Cizikas, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Marcus Foligno, Sudbury Wolves
Joey Hishon, Owen Sound Attack*
Zack Kassian, Windsor Spitfires
John McFarland, Sudbury Wolves
Greg McKegg, Erie Otters
Matt Puempel, Peterborough Petes
Justin Shugg, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Devante Smith-Pelly, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Ryan Spooner, Peterborough Petes
Ryan Strome, Niagara IceDogs
Ethan Werek, Kingston Frontenacs

George Burnett, Coach (Belleville Bulls)
Dave Cameron, Coach (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)
Trent Cull, Assistant Coach (Sudbury Wolves)
Dan Buckland, Trainer (Sudbury Wolves)

2010 SUBWAY® Super Series Schedule of Games:
Game 1 – Monday November 8 at Saint John, NB
Game 2 – Wednesday November 10 at Drummondville, QC
Game 3 – Thursday November 11 at London, ON
Game 4 – Monday November 15 at Sudbury, ON

Game 5 – Wednesday November 17 at Kamloops, BC
Game 6 – Thursday November 18 at Prince George, BC

For more information about the event and tickets please visit

The SUBWAY® restaurant chain is the world’s largest submarine sandwich franchise, with more than 31,000 restaurants in 90 countries and over 2,400 restaurants in Canada.  In 2002, the SUBWAY® chain surpassed McDonald’s in the number of restaurants open in the United States and Canada. Headquartered in Milford, Conn., the SUBWAY® restaurant chain was cofounded by Fred DeLuca and Dr. Peter Buck in 1965. For more information about the SUBWAY® restaurant chain, visit

More News
139 WHL Alumni on NHL Opening Night Rosters
2 days ago
175 OHL Alumni on NHL Opening Night Rosters
2 days ago
Kia CHL Top-10 Spotlight: Islanders sinking the competition
3 days ago
The Week That Was – Making a mark at NHL camps
4 days ago
657 CHL talents past and present competing at NHL training camps
5 days ago
CHL Sunday Spotlight – 5 Questions with Oceanic's Zachary Bolduc
6 days ago