CHL announces 2014-15 Award winners

Saturday May 30, 2015

Quebec City – The Canadian Hockey League today announced the 10 national award winners for the 2014-15 season including Connor McDavid of the Erie Otters who captured three awards including Jack Link’s Top Prospect of the Year, SUBWAY Scholastic Player of the Year, and Sportsnet CHL Player of the Year honours. 

The awards were presented as part of the 2015 MasterCard Memorial Cup festivities at Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City.

2014-15 CHL Award Winners:

Jack Link’s Top Prospect of the Year: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters):
Connor McDavid is the top ranked North American prospect by NHL Central Scouting for the 2015 NHL Draft which takes place June 26-27 in Florida.  Since 1991, 11 previous award recipients went on to be selected first overall in the NHL Draft including Nail Yakupov (Sarnia Sting 2012), and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Red Deer Rebels 2011). Finalists for the award were top WHL prospect Ivan Provorov of the Brandon Wheat Kings who was ranked seventh overall by NHL Central Scouting, and top QMJHL prospect Timo Meier of the Halifax Mooseheads ranked at number 10.

Sherwin-Williams Top Scorers: Conor Garland (Moncton Wildcats) and Dylan Strome (Erie Otters):
Dylan Strome and Conor Garland tied for the CHL-lead in scoring with 129 points each and are co-winners of the Top Scorer honour.  Both eligible for the 2015 NHL Draft, Strome scored 45 goals and 84 assists in 68 games while Garland tallied 35 goals and 94 assists in 67 games.  Strome is the second straight Erie Otters player to win the award following Connor Brown who recorded 128 points last season, while Garland is the first Wildcats player to receive the honour and the second American player following Patrick Kane in 2007. Columbus Blue Jackets prospect Oliver Bjorkstrand of the Portland Winterhawks led the WHL in scoring with 65 goals and 55 assists for 118 points in 59 games.

CCM Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year: Rourke Chartier (Kelowna Rockets):
Rourke Chartier finished tied for 14th in WHL scoring with 48 goals and 34 assists for 82 points while recording just 18 minutes in penalties in 58 games played.  The 19-year-old from Saskatoon, SK, was selected in the fifth round of the 2014 NHL Draft by the San Jose Sharks.  Finalists for the award include Kyle Farrell of the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles, and Dylan Strome of the Erie Otters.

TVA Sports Humanitarian of the Year: Danick Martel (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada):
Danick Martel, a 20-year-old from Drummondville, QC, was heavily involved in the Blainville-Boisbriand community as a leader in team activities as well as creating his own initiatives to make sure his community involvement would leave a lasting impact.  Martel signed a free agent entry-level contract with the Philadelphia Flyers in March and finished second in QMJHL scoring with 102 points in 64 games.  Finalists for the award include Nick Paul of the North Bay Battalion, and Taylor Vickerman of the Tri-City Americans.

SUBWAY Scholastic Player of the Year: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters):
Connor McDavid excelled on and off the ice for the Otters winning the award for the second straight season achieving an ‘A’ average while attending McDowell Secondary School in Erie.  He becomes the first back-to-back recipient since Jeff Nelson of the Prince Albert Raiders in 1988-89 and 1989-90.  Finalists for the award were Montreal Canadiens prospect Jeremy Gregoire of the Baie-Comeau Drakkar also for the second straight season, and 2015 NHL Draft prospect Nick McBride of the Prince Albert Raiders.

MasterCard Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year: Sheldon Keefe (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds):
Sheldon Keefe guided the Greyhounds to a record of 54-12-0-2 setting a franchise record with 110 points in just his third season behind the bench.  The club achieved an .809 winning percentage and scored 342 goals which were both top marks across the CHL.  Finalists for the award were Joel Bouchard of the Blainville-Boisbriand Armada, and John Paddock of the Regina Pats. 

BMO Rookie of the Year: Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters):
Alex DeBrincat led all rookies with 51 goals and 53 assists for 104 points in 68 games played with a plus-minus rating of plus-59.  Eligible for the 2016 NHL Draft, the 17-year-old from Detroit, Michigan, equals the 104 points recorded by last year’s recipient Nikolaj Ehlers of the Halifax Mooseheads but is the first 50-goal rookie since fellow American Patrick Kane in 2006-07.  Finalists for the award include Dmytro Timashov of the Quebec Remparts and Nolan Patrick of the Brandon Wheat Kings. 

Vaughn Goaltender of the Year: Philippe Desrosiers (Rimouski Oceanic):
Philippe Desrosiers posted a 29-9-1-2 record with five shutout victories along with a goals-against-average of 2.50 and save percentage of .901 for the Rimouski Oceanic who finished in first place in the QMJHL standings.  The 19-year-old from St-Hyacinthe, QC, was selected by the Dallas Stars in the second round of the 2013 NHL Draft.  Finalists for the award include Lucas Peressini of the Kingston Frontenacs, and Taran Kozun of the Seattle Thunderbirds.

Liftmaster Defenceman of the Year: Anthony DeAngelo (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds):
Anthony DeAngelo led all defencemen in scoring with 89 points in 55 games recording 25 goals and 64 assists becoming the second member of the Soo Greyhounds to win the award following Ryan Sproul in 2013.  The 19-year-old from Philadelphia, PA, was selected by the Tampa Bay Lightning 19th overall in the 2014 NHL Draft.  Finalists for the award include Winnipeg Jets prospect Jan Kostalek of the Rimouski Oceanic, and Anaheim Ducks prospect Shea Theodore of the Seattle Thunderbirds.

Sportsnet Player of the Year: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters):
Connor McDavid scored 44 goals and 76 assists for 120 points in just 47 games played recording a plus-minus rating of plus-60 helping the Erie Otters win 50 games for the second straight season.  The 18-year-old from Newmarket, ON, recorded a point in 45 of his 47 games played with an incredible 36 multi-point performances and highlighted by a 27-game point-streak.  A member of Canada’s National Junior Team, McDavid won gold at the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship and was named a Tournament All-Star finishing tied for first with 11 points.  McDavid’s three CHL awards in one season matches Patrick Kane in 2007 and Sidney Crosby in 2004-05.  Finalists for the award include Conor Garland of the Moncton Wildcats, and Columbus Blue Jackets prospect Oliver Bjorkstrand of the Portland Winterhawks.

More News
CHL to NHL: Beck makes NHL debut with Habs in emergency recall
11 hours ago
CHL Daily: Mooseheads makes it 20 games unbeaten in regulation
12 hours ago
CHL to NHL: Four CHL alumnus make NHL debuts
1 day ago
CHL on TSN highlights: Quebec 5-0 Chicoutimi
1 day ago
CHL Daily: Nadeau stars for Olympiques
1 day ago
The Game: Showtime
2 days ago