Introducing new CHL Captains for 2019-20 season


Every Canadian Hockey League season brings fresh faces and change to most club rosters and often times new leadership is the result.

The 2019-20 campaign is no different as more than half the league’s 60 teams from coast-to-coast have announced a new captain either in the off-season, training camp, or at some point during the first three weeks of action.

A total of 35 new team captains have been announced, meanwhile 14 captains from last season have returned, and 11 teams currently do not have a permanent ‘C’.

Here’s a social media rundown and summary of all 35 teams who have formally introduced new captains:

Quebec Major Junior Hockey League New Captains:

Acadie-Bathurst Titan – Shawn Element

Charlottetown Islanders – Brendon Clavelle

Chicoutimi Sagueneens – Rafael Harvey-Pinard

Drummondville Voltigeurs – Xavier Simoneau

Gatineau Olympiques – Charles-Antoine Roy

Moncton Wildcats – Jakob Pelletier

Quebec Remparts – Felix Bibeau

Rimouski Oceanic – Alexis Lafreniere

Rouyn-Noranda Huskies – Alexis Arsenault

Saint John Sea Dogs – Nicolas Guay

Shawinigan Cataractes – Gabriel Denis

Victoriaville Tigres – Anthony Poulin

Three of the QMJHL’s 18 teams return their 2018-19 captain including Gabriel Fortier of the Baie-Comeau Drakkar, Samuel Poulin of the Sherbrooke Phoenix, and David Noel of the Val-d’Or Foreurs.  So far this season the Cape Breton Eagles have awarded Derek Gentile and Kyle Havlena the ‘C’ for various games, while the Blainville-Boisbriand Armada and the Halifax Mooseheads have yet to make any formal leadership announcements.

Ontario Hockey League New Captains:

Erie Otters – Jack Duff

Guelph Storm – Cam Hillis

Hamilton Bulldogs – Isaac Nurse

Kingston Frontenacs – Jakob Brahaney

Kitchener Rangers – Riley Damiani & Greg Meireles

London Knights – Liam Foudy & Alec Regula

Mississauga Steelheads – Liam Ham

Niagara IceDogs – Akil Thomas

North Bay Battalion – Brad Chenier

Owen Sound Attack – Aidan Dudas

Sudbury Wolves – Macauley Carson & Shane Bulitka

Seven of the OHL’s 20 teams return their 2018-19 captain including Jason Willms of the Barrie Colts, Ty Dellandrea of the Flint Firebirds, Kyle MacLean of the Oshawa Generals, Zach Gallant of the Peterborough Petes, Damien Giroux of the Saginaw Spirit, Ryan McGregor of the Sarnia Sting, and Luke Boka of the Windsor Spitfires.  Only the Ottawa 67’s and Soo Greyhounds do not currently have anyone with the ‘C’ however the Greyhounds captaincy was most recently held by 19-year-old Barrett Hayton who was named to the Arizona Coyotes opening night roster and is eligible to return.

Western Hockey League New Captains:

Brandon Wheat Kings – Connor Gutenberg

Edmonton Oil Kings – Scott Atkinson

Everett Silvertips – Bryce Kindopp

Kamloops Blazers – Zane Franklin

Medicine Hat Tigers – James Hamblin

Portland Winterhawks – Johnny Ludvig

Red Deer Rebels – Dawson Barteaux

Regina Pats – Austin Pratt

Seattle Thunderbirds – Matthew Wedman

Swift Current Broncos – Ethan Regnier

Tri-City Americans – Kyle Olson

Vancouver Giants – Alex Kannok Leipert

Four of the WHL’s 22 teams return their 2018-19 captain including Mark Kastelic of the Calgary Hitmen, Chase Wouters of the Saskatoon Blades, Ty Smith of the Spokane Chiefs, and Peyton Krebs of the Winnipeg ICE.  Six clubs including the Kelowna Rockets, Lethbridge Hurricanes, Moose Jaw Warriors, Prince Albert Raiders, Prince George Cougars, and Victoria Royals do not have anyone with the ‘C’.

More News
5 Questions with Nick Suzuki
8 hours ago
2012 Memorial Cup Memories
10 hours ago
Livestream: 2012 Memorial Cup Championship Final
20 hours ago
CHL Leaders: QMJHL grad Vermette enters exciting new career in real estate
2 days ago
A CHL Awards message from Alexis Lafreniere
2 days ago
Alexis Lafreniere wins CHL Top Draft Prospect of the Year Award presented by Kubota Canada
3 days ago