32 CHL grads competing in 2019 Stanley Cup Final


A total of 32 CHL graduates are included on rosters of the Boston Bruins and St. Louis Blues in a Stanley Cup Final that is off to an entertaining start.

The Bruins took Game 1 of the series by a score of 4-2 before the Blues battled back for a 3-2 overtime road win in Game 2 on Wednesday.

A trio of CHL grads in Ryan O’Reilly (Erie Otters), David Perron (Lewiston MAINEiacs) and captain Alex Pietrangelo (Barrie Colts) have factored prominently into St. Louis’ first Stanley Cup Final appearance since 1970. Former OHL Goaltender of the Year Jordan Binnington (Owen Sound Attack) burst onto the scene midseason, playing to a 24-5-1 record with five shutouts before carrying his strong play over into the playoffs where he’s registered a 2.37 goals-against average and .915 save percentage.

Blues rookie Robert Thomas (Hamilton Bulldogs) was last year’s OHL Playoff MVP, earning the Wayne Gretzky ’99’ Award with the league champion Hamilton Bulldogs. He had a solid rookie season, recording 33 points (9-24—33) over 70 games in St. Louis.

The Bruins are led in playoff scoring by four-year QMJHL graduate Brad Marchand (Halifax Mooseheads) who has recorded 19 points (8-11–19) in as many games. Long-time centremen and former CHL standouts David Krejci (Gatineau Olympiques) and Patrice Bergeron (Acadie-Bathurst Titan) have also been key contributors as the Bruins return to the Final for the first time since 2013.

Among Boston’s ‘black aces’ throughout their 2019 playoff run are two of the Ontario Hockey League’s prominent performers from this past season in Niagara IceDogs centreman Jack Studnicka along with former Oshawa Generals teammate Kyle Keyser in the crease.

The 2019 Stanley Cup Final shifts to St. Louis tied at one, with Game 3 of the series set for Saturday night.


Boston Bruins (14):
Patrice Bergeron (Acadie-Bathurst Titan 2003)
Brandon Carlo (Tri-City Americans 2016)
Zdeno Chara (Prince George Cougars 1997)
Charlie Coyle (Saint John Sea Dogs 2012)
Jake DeBrusk (Red Deer Rebels 2016)
Jaroslav Halak (Lewiston MAINEiacs 2005)
Kyle Keyser (Oshawa Generals 2019)
David Krejci (Gatineau Olympiques 2006)
Jeremy Lauzon (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies 2017)
Brad Marchand (Halifax Mooseheads 2008)
John Moore (Kitchener Rangers 2010)
Zach Senyshyn (Soo Greyhounds 2017)
Jack Studnicka (Niagara IceDogs 2019)
Jakub Zboril (Saint John Sea Dogs 2017)

St. Louis Blues (18):
Jake Allen (Drummondville Voltigeurs 2010)
Ivan Barbashev (Moncton Wildcats 2015)
Sammy Blais (Charlottetown Islanders 2016)
Jordan Binnington (Owen Sound Attack 2013)
Robert Bortuzzo (Kitchener Rangers 2009)
Jay Bouwmeester (Medicine Hat Tigers 2002)
Michael Del Zotto (London Knights 2009)
Vince Dunn (Niagara IceDogs 2016)
Joel Edmundson (Kamloops Blazers 2013)
Robby Fabbri (Guelph Storm 2015)
Pat Maroon (London Knights 2008)
Jordan Nolan (Sault Ste. Marie 2010)
Ryan O’Reilly (Erie Otters 2009)
David Perron (Lewiston MAINEiacs 2007)
Alex Pietrangelo (Barrie Colts 2010)
Brayden Schenn (Saskatoon Blades 2011)
Robert Thomas (Hamilton Bulldogs 2018)
Chris Thorburn (Plymouth Whalers 2003)

For full coverage of the 2019 Stanley Cup Final visit

More News
87 CHL players selected in 2021 NHL Draft
6 days ago
15 CHL players selected in first round of 2021 NHL Draft
1 week ago
2021 NHL Draft Blog: Round 1
1 week ago
Meet The Future - Carson Lambos
1 week ago
Meet The Future - Francesco Pinelli
1 week ago
Meet The Future - Colton Dach
1 week ago