26 CHL Players named to Canadian Roster for 2012 Canada-Russia Challenge

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Friday a roster of 28 players that will represent Canada in the 2012 Canada-Russia Challenge in August, an event that replaces Canada’s National Junior Team summer development camp for this season.


Canada’s roster, comprised of three goaltenders, 10 defencemen and 15 forwards, was selected by Kevin Prendergast, head scout of the men’s Program of Excellence for Hockey Canada, along with Hockey Canada senior director of hockey operations and national teams Scott Salmond, and the team’s coaching staff, comprised of head coach Steve Spott (Waterloo, Ont./Kitchener, OHL), Mario Duhamel (St-Bruno, Que./Drummondville, QMJHL), Don Nachbaur (Prince George, B.C./Spokane, WHL) and André Tourigny (Nicolet, Que./Rouyn-Noranda, QMJHL).


Prendergast will continue to monitor these players and other potential candidates during the first few months of the 2012-13 season and at the CHL Subway Super Series to determine who will be invited to Canada’s National Junior Team selection camp in December. In total, 22 players will be selected to represent Canada at the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship, December 26, 2012 to January 5, 2013 in Ufa, Russia.


CHL Players:



Malcolm Subban (Belleville Bulls)

Laurent Brossoit (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Maxime Lagacé (P.E.I Rocket)


Defencemen :

Mathew Dumba (Red Deer Rebels)

Cody Ceci (Ottawa 67’s)

Dougie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs)

Morgan Rielly (Moose Jaw Warriors)

Scott Harrington (London Knights)

Griffin Reinhart (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Xavier Ouellet (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

Ryan Murphy (Kitchener Rangers)

Ryan Murray (Everett Silvertips)

Adam Pelech (Erie Otters)


Forwards :

Hunter Shinkaruk (Medicine Hat Tigers)

Charles Hudon (Chicoutimi Sagueneens)

Jonathan Huberdeau (Saint John Sea Dogs)

Thomas Wilson (Plymouth Whalers)

Ryan Strome (Niagara IceDogs)

Mark Scheifele (Barrie Colts)

Sean Monahan (Ottawa 67’s)

Phillip Danault (Victoriaville Tigres)

Boone Jenner (Oshawa Generals)

Lukas Sutter (Saskatoon Blades)

Ty Rattie (Portland Winterhawks)

Brendan Leipsic (Portland Winterhawks)

Lucas Lessio (Oshawa Generals)


Hockey Canada and the CHL also named the members of the support staff for both the 2012 Canada-Russia Challenge and the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship.




Canada’s roster includes seven players who won bronze with Canada’s National Junior Team at the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship in Alberta: defencemen Dougie Hamilton (Toronto, Ont./Niagara, OHL), Scott Harrington (Kingston, Ont./London, OHL) and Ryan Murray (White City, Sask./Everett, WHL) and forwards Jonathan Huberdeau (St-Jérôme, Que./Saint John, QMJHL), Boone Jenner (Dorchester, Ont./Oshawa, OHL), Mark Scheifele (Kitchener, Ont./Barrie, OHL) and Ryan Strome (Mississauga, Ont./Niagara, OHL). A number of the players on Canada’s roster in Yaroslavl, Russia and in Halifax, N.S., will be front and centre at the 2012 NHL Entry Draft on June 22-23 in Pittsburgh, where many are expected to be selected in the first and second rounds.


The 2012 Canada-Russia Challenge is a collaboration between Hockey Canada, the Canadian Hockey League and Halifax Trade Centre Limited, which will see Canada and Russia’s national junior programs face off in four games, two in Russia and two in Canada, to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the 1972 Summit Series.




Thursday, August 9         Time TBD                                Canada vs. Russia           Yaroslavl, Russia

Friday, August 10           Time TBD                                 Canada vs. Russia           Yaroslavl, Russia

Monday, August 13         8 p.m. AT/7 p.m. ET                 Russia vs. Canada           Halifax, N.S.

Tuesday, August 14        8 p.m. AT/7 p.m. ET                 Russia vs. Canada           Halifax, N.S. 


Two-game ticket packages for the Halifax portion of the series are on sale for $86, plus applicable fees. The packages are available by going to, stopping by the Ticket Atlantic box office at the Halifax Metro Centre promenade via Carmichael and Duke streets, or by calling Ticket Atlantic at (902) 451-1221.


For more information on Canada’s National Junior Team and Hockey Canada, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

More News
Kamloops selected to host 2023 Memorial Cup presented by Kia
14 hours ago
Road to the Memorial Cup
1 month ago
May 27/22 - WPG (1) - EDM (7) - Game 5
3 mins ago
May 27/22 - SEA (3) - KAM (4) - OT - Game 5
3 mins ago
May 27/22 - WSR (4) - FLNT (2) - Game 4
4 mins ago
May 27/22 - HAM (6) - NB (0) - Game 4
4 mins ago
CHL Player of the Night - Jan Mysak (May 27)
15 mins ago