22 CHL Players win 2012 Ivan Hlinka U18 Gold

PIESTANY, Slovakia – Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team has won the gold medal at the 2012 Memorial of Ivan Hlinka tournament, defeating Finland 4-0 in Saturday’s gold medal game in Piestany. Canada has won the summer under-18 tournament five consecutive years and eight of the last nine.


On Saturday, Nathan MacKinnon (Cole Harbour, N.S./Halifax, QMJHL) scored a hat trick to pace the offence as the Canadians finished an undefeated run through the tournament, earning Canada’s 17th summer under-18 gold medal since 1991.


After a scoreless first period, MacKinnon gave Canada the lead just 1:14 into the second, and added a power play goal midway through the frame to double the Canadian lead. He finished off his hat trick in the third period with another goal on the power play, this time on a two-man advantage, with 12 minutes left.


Curtis Lazar (Vernon, B.C./Edmonton, WHL) also scored for Canada, while Zachary Fucale (Rosemère, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) earned the shutout with a 23-save performance as Canada outshot the Finns 44-23.


In Saturday’s bronze medal game in Breclav, Czech Republic, Sweden beat the Czechs 2-1. 


Canada’s roster is made up of 13 forwards, seven defencemen and two goaltenders, and features nine players from the Western Hockey League, seven from the Ontario Hockey League and six from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.



Eric Comrie (Tri-City Americans)

Zachary Fucale (Halifax Mooseheads)



Chris Bigras (Owen Sound Attack)

Madison Bowey (Kelowna Rockets)

Kayle Doetzel (Red Deer Rebels)

Josh Morrissey (Prince Albert Raiders)

Darnell Nurse (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Jordan Subban (Belleville Bulls)

Shea Theodore (Seattle Thunderbirds)



Max Domi (London Knights)

Jonathan Drouin (Halifax Mooseheads)

Anthony Duclair (Quebec Remparts)

Jérémy Grégoire (Chicoutimi Sagueneens)

Bo Horvat (London Knights)

Morgan Klimchuk (Regina Pats)

Ryan Kujawinski (Kingston Frontenacs)

Yan-Pavel Laplante (P.E.I Rocket)

Curtis Lazar (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Nathan MacKinnon (Halifax Mooseheads)

Nic Petan (Portland Winterhawks)

Sam Reinhart (Kootenay Ice)

Nick Ritchie (Peterborough Petes)




For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team and Hockey Canada, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

More News
Kamloops selected to host 2023 Memorial Cup presented by Kia
15 hours ago
Road to the Memorial Cup
1 month ago
May 27/22 - WPG (1) - EDM (7) - Game 5
1 hour ago
May 27/22 - SEA (3) - KAM (4) - OT - Game 5
1 hour ago
May 27/22 - WSR (4) - FLNT (2) - Game 4
1 hour ago
May 27/22 - HAM (6) - NB (0) - Game 4
1 hour ago
CHL Player of the Night - Jan Mysak (May 27)
1 hour ago