MENU

Broadcast Schedule

Sportsnet, the exclusive national broadcaster of Canadian Hockey League action and home of hockey’s brightest stars, today announced its 2016-17 CHL broadcast schedule, headlined by marquee events such as the 2016 CIBC Canada Russia Series, the Sherwin Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game, and the 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup.

The action gets underway next week with the annual 2016 CIBC Canada Russia Series as Team Russia takes on Team WHL on Monday, Nov. 7 at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW. Following the Series, Sportsnet gets down to business with a full slate of regular season games from across the Ontario Hockey League, the Western Hockey League and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. (Full broadcast details below).

Below are the key details of Sportsnet’s CHL coverage this season:

TV – Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW

Familiar faces return to the Sportsnet broadcast booth, as the veteran broadcast team of R.J. Broadhead and Sam Cosentino call each CHL broadcast alongside host Rob Faulds. Must-watch events this season include:

  • 2016 CIBC Canada Russia Series (Nov. 7-17, 2016) – The annual best-on-best six-game series features regional league teams of Canadian National Junior Team candidates competing against the Russian National Junior Team
  • Sherwin Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game (Monday, Jan. 30, 2017) – The 22nd annual showcase of the CHL’s top-40 NHL draft eligible players, featuring talent from all three CHL leagues (QMJHL, OHL and WHL) competing before hundreds of NHL scouts. This year’s game will be hosted by the Quebec Remparts at Centre Vidéotron
  • 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup (May 18-28, 2017)The Windsor Spitfires will host the 99th edition of the Mastercard Memorial Cup, featuring the host team alongside champion teams from the OHL, WHL, and QMJHL

Digital – Sportsnet.ca

Fans need to look no further than Sportsnet.ca for all things CHL and a season’s worth of Major Junior junior-hockey related features and content. Key highlights of Sportsnet’s digital coverage include:

  • Ongoing news, videos, features and profiles from Sportsnet’s stable of experts, including Jeff Marek, Cosentino, Gare JoyceKristina RutherfordJohn Griggand Neate Sager
  • Weekly CHL Power Rankings by Cosentino and CHL Notebooks from Sager
  • The Prospect Project 2017 – A new podcast hosted by Marek looking at the world of prospects and scouting ahead of the 2017 NHL Draft
  • World Junior Championship coverage – Wall-to-wall coverage from Toronto and Montreal, covering the players and teams that matter most to Canadian fans

Now in its third season of a 12-year partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, Sportsnet is home to CHL action through the 2025-26 CHL season, featuring a comprehensive suite of multimedia rights including television, online and mobile and continuing its tradition as the exclusive broadcaster of the CHL and Mastercard Memorial Cup in Canada. The deal also includes a 12-year sub-licensing agreement with TVA Sports for exclusive French-language multiplatform rights for CHL games.

CIBC Canada Russia Series Broadcast Schedule – Sportsnet

All games available on Sportsnet NOW

*schedule subject to change

November 2016

  • Monday, Nov. 7, Russia @ WHL, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 8, Russia @ WHL, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Thursday, Nov. 10, Russia @ OHL, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Monday, Nov. 14, Russia @ OHL, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 15, Russia @ QMJHL, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE and Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Nov. 17, Russia @ QMJHL, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

CHL Broadcast Schedule – Sportsnet

All games available on Sportsnet NOW

*schedule subject to change

November 2016

  • Friday, Nov. 25, Sault Ste. Marie @ Mississauga, 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario and 360)

December 2016

  • Friday, Dec. 2, Owen Sound @ London, 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, Pacific and Sportsnet ONE)
  • Thursday, Dec. 15, London @ Peterborough, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Saturday, Dec. 17, Rouyn-Noranda @ Drummondville, 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT (Sportsnet)

January 2017

  • Saturday, Jan. 7, Saint John @ Halifax, 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT (Sportsnet)
  • Thursday, Jan. 12, Kitchener @ Windsor, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Saturday, Jan. 14, Ottawa @ Hamilton, 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Saturday, Jan. 21, Sault Ste. Marie @ Sarnia, 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Saturday, Jan. 28, London @ Owen Sound, 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Monday, Jan. 30, Sherwin Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game, Team Cherry vs. Team Orr, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)

February 2017

  • Friday, Feb. 3, Calgary @ Vancouver, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Friday, Feb. 10, London @ Kitchener, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Sunday, Feb. 12, Calgary @ Edmonton, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Tuesday, Feb. 14, Brandon @ Moose Jaw, 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Friday, Feb. 17, Spokane @ Kelowna, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Feb. 21, Edmonton @ Kamloops, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Friday, Feb. 24, Victoria @ Vancouver, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Sunday, Feb. 26, Sudbury @ Mississauga, 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)

March 2017

  • Thursday, March 2, Sault Ste. Marie @ Windsor, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Saturday, March 4, London @ Windsor, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Thursday, March 9, Guelph @ London, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Sunday, March 12, Quebec @ Gatineau, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, March 14, Victoria @ Vancouver, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)
  • Friday, March 17, Vancouver @ Kelowna, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)

Social Media Links:

Official website, Sportsnet www.sportsnet.ca

Sportsnet NOW website www.sportsnet.ca/now/

Like Sportsnet www.Facebook.com/Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet on Twitter @Sportsnet

Follow RJ Broadhead @SNRJBroadhead

Follow Rob Faulds @SNFaulds

Follow Jeff Marek @JeffMarek

Follow Gare Joyce @GareJoyceNHL

Follow Kristina Rutherford @KrRutherford

Follow John Grigg @John_Grigg

Follow Neate Sager @NaitSAYger

Follow Sportsnet on Instagram @Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet connects Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes, using five platforms: TV, Radio, Print, Online and Mobile. Delivering storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet magazine, Sportsnet Mobile and Sportsnet NOW. Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet World, and Sportsnet 360. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national broadcast rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN), Vancouver Canucks and Montreal Canadiens. In addition, Sportsnet is also the exclusive Canadian broadcast rights holder of the CHL, including the Memorial Cup. Sportsnet is the Canadian leader in MLB television broadcasts and is home to all 162 Toronto Blue Jays games, plus MLB Playoffs and the World Series. Sportsnet also offers an exciting sports lineup including the NFL, Toronto Raptors, NBA, CIS Vanier Cup, Grand Slam of Curling, IndyCar, the Rogers Cup tennis tournament, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, CONCACAF and Canadian national team matches for men and women. Sportsnet Central is the network’s news program, providing regional and national coverage of the day’s events in the world of sports.