CHL Alumni listed among Top-100 NHL Players of All Time

The spotlight is on Los Angeles this weekend as the National Hockey League celebrates 100 years at the 2017 NHL All-Star Classic.

As part of the celebrations, the NHL has unveiled a list detailing the top-100 players of all-time, several of whom have come out of the Canadian Hockey League ranks.

Dynamic competitors that have defined the game such as Wayne Gretzky, Sidney Crosby, Joe Sakic, Steve Yzerman and Ray Bourque headline a list that includes a total of 29 CHL graduates in its ranks.

An additional 28 players included on the list spent their junior years playing in the OHA prior to 1974, a list that includes all-time greats such as Bobby Orr, Stan Mikita, Bobby Hull and Terry Sawchuk among others.

A total of 14 players on the honour roll have hoisted the Memorial Cup including Dickie Moore and Gilbert Perreault, each of whom accomplished the feat twice in the years since it was first awarded in 1919.

The top-100 list was selected by a 58-member panel of league executives, former players and media members in honour of the league’s centennial.


CHL Players (29):

Includes 11 OHL (since 1974), 11 QMJHL (since 1969), 7 WHL (since 1966)

Mike Bossy (Laval National 1972-77)
Ray Bourque (Trois-Rivieres Draveurs 1976-77, Sorel Black Hawks 1976-77, Verdun Black Hawks 1978-79)
Martin Brodeur (St. Hyacinthe Lasers 1989-92)
Bobby Clarke (Flin Flon Bombers 1967-69)
Paul Coffey (Kingston Canadians 1977-78, Soo Greyhounds 1978-80, Kitchener Rangers 1979-80)
Sidney Crosby (Rimouski Oceanic 2003-05)
Ron Francis (Soo Greyhounds 1980-82)
Grant Fuhr (Victoria Cougars 1979-81)
Mike Gartner (St. Catharines Black Hawks 1975-76, Niagara Falls Flyers 1976-78)
Wayne Gretzky (Peterborough Petes 1976-77, Soo Greyhounds 1977-78)
Patrick Kane (London Knights 2006-07)
Duncan Keith (Kelowna Rockets 2002-03)
Guy Lafleur (Quebec Remparts 1969-71)
Pat LaFontaine (Verdun Juniors 1982-83)
Mario Lemieux (Laval Voisins 1981-84)
Eric Lindros (Oshawa Generals 1989-92)
Al MacInnis (Kitchener Rangers 1980-83)
Mike Modano (Prince Albert Raiders 1986-89)
Scott Niedermayer (Kamloops Blazers 1989-92)
Chris Pronger (Peterborough Petes 1991-93)
Luc Robitaille (Hull Olympiques 1983-86)
Patrick Roy (Granby Bisons 1982-85)
Joe Sakic (Lethbridge Broncos 1985-86, Swift Current Broncos 1986-88)
Denis Savard (Montreal Juniors 1977-80)
Brendan Shanahan (London Knights 1985-87)
Billy Smith (Cornwall Royals 1969-70)
Scott Stevens (Kitchener Rangers 1981-82)
Bryan Trottier (Swift Current Broncos 1972-74, Lethbridge Broncos 1974-75)
Steve Yzerman (Peterborough Petes 1981-83)

OHA players prior to 1974 (28):
Syl Apps (Paris Greens 1930-31)
Andy Bathgate (Guelph 1951-53)
Charlie Conacher (Toronto Marlboros 1927-29)
Yvon Cournoyer (Montreal Jr. Canadiens 1961-64)
Alex Delvecchio (Oshawa Generals 1950-51)
Marcel Dionne (St. Catharines Black Hawks 1968-71)
Phil Esposito (St. Catharines Teepees 1961-62)
Bob Gainey (Peterborough Petes 1971-73)
Glenn Hall (Windsor Spitfires 1949-51)
Tim Horton (Toronto St. Michael’s College Majors 1947-49)
Bobby Hull (St. Catharines Teepees 1955-57)
Red Kelly (Toronto St. Michael’s College Majors 1945-47)
Dave Keon (Toronto St. Michael’s College Majors 1956-60, Sudbury Wolves 1959-60)
Jacques Lemaire (Montreal Jr. Canadiens 1963-66)
Ted Lindsay (Toronto St. Michael’s College Majors 1943-44, Oshawa Generals 1943-44)
Frank Mahovlich (Toronto St. Michael’s Majors 1954-57)
Stan Mikita (St. Catharines Teepees 1956-59)
Bobby Orr (Oshawa Generals 1962-66)
Bernie Parent (Niagara Falls Flyers 1963-65)
Brad Park (Toronto Marlboros 1965-68)
Gilbert Perreault (Montreal Jr. Canadiens 1967-70)
Denis Potvin (Ottawa 67’s 1967-73)
Jean Ratelle (Guelph Biltmores 1958-60)
Larry Robinson (Kitchener Rangers 1970-71)
Serge Savard (Montreal Jr. Canadiens 1963-66)
Terry Sawchuk (Galt Red Wings 1946-47)
Milt Schmidt (Kitchener Greenshirts 1934-36)
Darryl Sittler (London Nationals 1967-68, London Knights 1968-70)

Memorial Cup Champions (14):
Andy Bathgate (Guelph Biltmores 1952)
Toe Blake (Sudbury Cub Wolves 1932)
Charlie Conacher (Toronto Marlboros 1929)
Red Kelly (Toronto St. Michael’s College Majors 1947)
Guy Lafleur (Quebec Remparts 1971)
Eric Lindros (Oshawa Generals 1990)
Ted Lindsay (Oshawa Generals 1944)
Al MacInnis (Kitchener Rangers 1982)
Dickie Moore (Montreal Royals 1949, Montreal Jr. Canadiens 1950)
Scott Niedermayer (Kamloops Blazers 1992)
Bernie Parent (Niagara Falls Flyers 1965)
Brad Park (Toronto Marlboros 1967)
Gilbert Perreault (Montreal Jr. Canadiens 1969, 1970)
Scott Stevens (Kitchener Rangers 1982)

More News
Pats pull together to oust rival Broncos and advance to semi-final
4 hours ago
CHL Fans and Community Raise Over $7 Million for Charities and Local Organizations
12 hours ago
Bulldogs hand Titan first loss, await Wednesday's outcome
1 day ago
CHL Scholarship Program Investment Tops $9.6 Million in 2017-18
2 days ago
CHL and Health Canada announce public education partnership
2 days ago
Skinner shines but Bulldogs prove too much for Broncos
2 days ago